The Republican who spoiled Halloween.

A suburban Detroit woman has decided to scare up the vote among neighborhood children by just offering treats to John McCain supporters.

Shirley Nagel of Grosse Pointe Farms, Mich., handed out candy Friday only to those who shared her support for the Republican presidential candidate and his running mate Sarah Palin. Others were turned away empty-handed.

TV station WJBK says a sign outside Nagel’s house warned: “No handouts for Obama supporters, liars, tricksters or kids of supporters.”

When asked about children who were turned away empty-handed and crying, she said: “Oh well. Everybody has a choice.”

:o
:(
That’s terrible.

The children don’t vote, they probably don’t have much of an awareness of politics anyway. If you don’t agree with the political positions of some other adults, that’s fine, but why take it out on children?

A couple of children came trick-or-treating to my door. I was a little annoyed, since I had to go downstairs, and they interrupted my Fallout 3 important work. But their little witch costumes were admittedly so cute. I didn’t have any lollies or anything to give them, so maybe I felt a touch of guilt, but come on, since when do people go trick-or-treating in Australia? – but if I lived in the US, where Halloween is of course actually widely celebrated, unlike Australia, then clearly I would have been prepared to give them something, irrespective of their or their parents political views.

I’m barely old enough to not go trick-or-treating myself. Since when do I have to fill the role of the big mean adult who has to make such decisions? =\

About this entry